Fox on Books

Book reviews, opinions, musings and ramblings. General bookish excitement!

Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like More (Or Less) Than I Did

top ten

Hosted by the awesome folks as The Broke and the Bookish, Top Ten Tuesdays is a weekly meme celebrating all things book.

Today we’re looking for books you really wanted to love – but didn’t. And books you expected to loathe – but didn’t. These are the top ten books I though I’d like more (or less) than I did.

bronte

Because no. I read Wuthering Heights thinking “Really? THIS is a classic romance??” Huge let down given how widely this gothic novel is worshiped.

Vampire Academy

I know this keeps coming up on my lists! But really. Given the cover and the slew of vampire fiction available when VAcademy was released, I grabbed it as another waste-of-a-couple-of-hours read. And since then I (evidently) can’t shut up about how fantastic the series and Richelle Mead in general are. (PS – keep an eye out for my review of Gameboard of the Gods. This book is gonna be BIG. Because it’s amazing.)

next doorI have nothing against My Life Next Door – it was a perfectly nice coming of age YA romance. But that’s all. It didn’t stand out at all for me. And with the hype I’d been hearing about it, I really expected it to.

Rosie

On the other hand, The Rosie Project seemed like a silly romantic-comedy-in-a-book. But it was so much more! Smart, funny and a gorgeous read.

glass

Ugh. I was deeply unimpressed by Throne of Glass – and I realise I’m in the minority here. Caelena didn’t grab me at all, and the plot was confused by too many angles. I don’t get the hype.

peculiar

Whereas The Peculiar, a steampunk faerie novel set in 1920s London, was SO GOOD. I couldn’t have anticipated how much I’d love this unassuming story. Read it read it read it!

Uninvited

Yeah. I liked this crime novel a lot – until it devolved into a mystic, paranormal thriller halfway through with no warning. Pick your market.

revolution

Holy up-until-3am read, Batman! This book is the definition of an addictive read. I completely drowned out the voice that tells you to go to sleep in favour of finishing Revolution as fast as possible. An engrossing story, and beautifully written.

thief

Look, The Book Thief was okay. It was good, even. But it’s never been one of those books that changed everything for me, and it is to so many other people I’ve talked to.

promise

You know what? If you’re looking for an intelligent, creepy, taut crime novel, don’t be as surprised as I was when you have a ball with Promise. It’s the best crime I read in 2012. (And the sequel’s no slouch, either!)

Friends, readers, tell me, share with me those books that let you down, or the ones that yanked you up with a WOAH!

Single Post Navigation

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like More (Or Less) Than I Did

  1. I couldn’t stand Wuthering Heights! In fact that was the first book I didn’t finish. I just couldn’t put myself through it anymore. I honestly don’t see the appeal.

    • I’m glad for you – honestly, it was the epitome of that book that everyone tells you is SO GOOD and ends up being a huge let down. Thanks for the comment!

  2. Jessica on said:

    Wuthering Heights is one book I just couldn’t get through. LOL Ah The Book Thief is one I keep seeing around, but I’m not sure if I want to try it or not.

    Jess @ Literary, etc

    • I think the Book Thief is one I liked on an ideas level, but really couldn’t connect with emotionally – and that’s what I need in any story. It’s well worth a read, though! But Wuthering Heights is, as you know, definitely not! Thanks for the comment 🙂

  3. I have to say I agreed with a couple of the didn’t get into’s a LOT, so I bought on kindle The Rose Project, The Promise and Peculiar, on your reco- let’s see how they fit!

    • That’s great! I LOVE being able to pass on my book obsessions. I’d love to know if you like them (or if you hate them and I’ve failed miserably in my recommendations!) Thanks so much for the comment 🙂

  4. One must never shut up about VA.

    As a after thought. What do you think of the movie… and the cast??

    My TTT

    • I like them, actually. Or, rather, I’m largely reserving judgement until the movie comes out… Which is really hard for me to do. But with a series I’ve loved this much I think there’ll be some disappointments no matter how good the movie and cast are…

      What do you think?

  5. sashandem on said:

    We’ve seen Throne of Glass so much today! Looks like we definitely won’t be reading!

    • Look, other people I know enjoyed it… But yeah, it’s really not something I’d recommend. If you want kick ass women in a similar setting, I can’t get enough of Maria V Snyder’s Poison Study series, or her new Touch of Power series. Thanks for the comment!

  6. The Throne of Glass definitely didn’t live up to my expectations and I have to say the novellas were so much better. I have tried several times to read the Book Thief, but I always get bored!! Great picks!!!
    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday

    • That’s the thing about the Book Thief, it’s quiet and beautiful but really a disconnect. For me, anyway (and you too). Interesting that the novellas from Maas were good, can you tell me what you liked about them? Thanks for the comment!

  7. I keep hearing how amazing Vampire Academy is. I really really need to read the books! I’ve seen them all over today’s TTT.

    Oh yeah, and I am never, ever reading Wuthering Heights. I’m quite sure I will hate everything about it.

    • I completely agree, I think you’d loathe Wuthering Heights – possibly as much as I did!! I wonder if VA will be too hyped for you now…? But man I hope not, because they’re, as you keep seeing, just so good!

  8. Agreed on Wuthering Heights. On top of the fact that it basically tells the same story twice, every character is an unlikeable jerk. Blecchh.

Leave a Reply

gabriellefeather5

Kissing Frogs and Other Misadventures

Darling Bibliophile

So many books, so little time.

TIME

Current & Breaking News | National & World Updates

The Escapades

The Escape Publishing Blog

Lisa Jakub

Writing about what happens when we stop acting

Love Hypothetically Books

purveyors of scorching hot romantic fiction

