Fox on Books

Book reviews, opinions, musings and ramblings. General bookish excitement!

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – by Douglas Adams

hitchhikerI’ve never read Hitchhiker’s before. (Believe me, I’m just as disappointed as you are in me.) But I rectified that on a plane from London to LA, last week. Here’s what I thought of Adams’ classic sci-fi screwball comedy:

Arthur Dent is having an odd day. (He never could get the hang of Thursdays.) First, his house was demolished. Then, the entire Earth was bulldozed to make way for a new, intergalactic highway. Now Arthur’s one of two humans left, scrambling around the universe with a Betelgeuse alien called Ford Prefect for a best friend and a towel for everything else.

The only way I can describe this book is to say that it is a hilarious work of comedic genius. And I feel like that might be understating it. My brother can attest to how funny I found it – when I wasn’t reading whole passages out to him, I was giggling to myself like a madwoman! I realise this is nothing that hasn’t been said before, but it bears repeating. It’s probably the most quotable book I’ve read. Every other line is a well-observed quip, a combination of absurd and true musings about life. And I don’t exaggerate when I say that I laughed until I cried. (To be fair, I’d also been stuck on a plane for 9 hours by this stage, and was pretty darn tired. But I digress.)

I didn’t exactly put off reading this novel, I just kept getting distracted by other books – upon reflection, books that were nowhere near as good! I feel like a chump for missing out until now. Don’t panic! But don’t delay, either: read The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. It’s short, sharp and sweet, and you’ll come out of it wondering how you ever could have existed without this book in your brain.

five fox

I’m going to read all the sequels immediately, now I’m home from my travels!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – by Douglas Adams

  1. Pingback: Filme da semana | Level Hard

Leave a Reply

gabriellefeather5

Kissing Frogs and Other Misadventures

Darling Bibliophile

So many books, so little time.

TIME

Current & Breaking News | National & World Updates

The Escapades

The Escape Publishing Blog

Lisa Jakub

Writing about what happens when we stop acting

Love Hypothetically Books

purveyors of scorching hot romantic fiction

