Fox on Books

Book reviews, opinions, musings and ramblings. General bookish excitement!

Anne of Green Gables and Anne of Avonlea – by L. M. Montgomery

greengablesRecently, I felt the need to revisit Anne, Marilla and Matthew on Prince Edward Island. Anne of Green Gables and its many sequels were one of my most beloved childhood series, and there’s something beautiful in the nostalgia you experience in re-reading these classics. At the same time, the story is a somewhat different experience when you’re an adult.

It took a little while for me to empathise with Anne, this time around. Perspective changes things, and as a grown up, I’m now approaching Anne’s story from more of a Marilla standpoint than from Anne’s. Does that make any sense? Just go with it. What I’m trying to say is that Anne wasn’t a kindred spirit (to borrow a term) as quickly now as she was when I was ten. I think it took time to settle into the cadence of Anne’s thought patterns, and her dramatic whimsy. But I love her. I defy anyone not to love Anne. Her boundless imagination, wild flights of fancy, and implacable optimism are incredibly endearing.

I have to give a shout out to the delicious slow-burn relationship between Anne and Gilbert Blythe. Gilbert has to be one of my all-time favourite book boyfriends. Gilbert accidentally antagonises Anne the first time they meet, and Anne maintains a determined, stony silence toward Gilbert for years. Girl can hold a GRUDGE. But as that tension finally eases, the two settle down into a friendship that seems like the most natural progression into love I’ve read in a long time.

Re-reading childhood favourites is such a treat. Something about the end of the year makes me nostalgic, and L M Montgomery’s works are a perfect indulgence. I’ll be bringing the rest back from my mother’s when I visit for Christmas so I can inhale those too!

four fox

Please tell me you’ve read Anne of Green Gables? If you have, I’m guessing you love Anne too (do you?). And if you haven’t, please rectify that as soon as possible. You won’t regret meeting the folks of Prince Edward Island.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Anne of Green Gables and Anne of Avonlea – by L. M. Montgomery

  1. Pingback: Sensational Quote Sunday | Fox on Books

  2. Pingback: DailyLit and Reading the Classics | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

  3. Pingback: Book Review: “Anne of Avonlea” | The Cheap Reader

Leave a Reply

gabriellefeather5

Kissing Frogs and Other Misadventures

Darling Bibliophile

So many books, so little time.

TIME

Current & Breaking News | National & World Updates

The Escapades

The Escape Publishing Blog

Lisa Jakub

Writing about what happens when we stop acting

Love Hypothetically Books

purveyors of scorching hot romantic fiction

